Your needs, this model
Does it fit your priorities?
At what tank volume does the HTG-100 leave its published capacity screen?
Both the current exact HTG-100 page and the older AquaTop series table list up to 25 US gallons. The upper-only volume rule includes 25 and removes it at 26. AquaTop does not state a minimum volume or guarantee a target temperature across room conditions; this boundary is a catalogue screen, not a heater-sizing prescription.
Explore this need in the finder →Is HTG-100 adjustable and documented for saltwater?
The exact AquaTop product page lists an adjustable temperature dial and fresh- and saltwater use. It does not publish the numerical accuracy of the thermostat or a minimum fill line in the source text reviewed. Check the physical instructions for immersion and electrical details before use.
Explore this need in the finder →What physical clearance does the HTG-100 need?
AquaTop lists dimensions of 1.25 by 1.25 by 11.5 inches. Treat these as manufacturer dimensions, not a guarantee of clearance around the guard, mount or aquarium rim; measure the actual tank space and compare the supplied package/instructions. The online page does not specify a mounting orientation or minimum waterline.
Explore this need in the finder →The AquaTop HTG-100 is a 100 W guarded glass heater with an 11.5-inch listed height. Its current exact product page names model HTG-100, says the unit is fully submersible, and rates it for aquariums up to 25 US gallons. The same page lists an adjustable 68–93°F temperature range, an indicator light and use in fresh or salt water. The older HTG series data table agrees with the 25-gallon figure for the 100 W entry. This is a document-based review, not a report of hands-on use or measured performance.
The 100 W step is a body and capacity change
The HTG-100 has twice the nominal wattage of the 50 W model, a higher stated maximum of 25 gallons instead of 13, and a longer body at 11.5 rather than 9.5 inches. Those differences make the 100 W model a separate configuration, not a finish variation of the same heater. The listed tank maximum is a screening ceiling, not proof that a particular room, lid, water circulation pattern or initial temperature gap will reach the keeper's requested temperature. AquaTop does not publish a minimum water volume or a temperature-difference chart for the HTG-100.
It would be misleading to turn “100 W” into a universal gallons-per-watt rule. Even though the exact page specifies up to 25 gallons, the maker's reviewed copy does not describe how that limit changes with a cold room or a high target. A buyer should compare actual working water volume, planned mounting space and the product instructions, then monitor aquarium water separately. At 26 gallons this model is outside the published maximum; under it, a match still does not establish that the size is appropriate for every environment.
Guarded glass is not a shatterproof certification
The family page describes an outer guard intended to help protect the glass heater from accidental breakage, especially contact from larger fish or turtles. That guard is the important distinction from the conventional unguarded glass GH series. It is not a quantified impact test, and AquaTop does not call the whole body shatterproof in the reviewed exact page. If an aquarium plan requires a documented shatterproof body, HTG-100 should not be treated as meeting that requirement without stronger manufacturer evidence.
The package image shows a guarded heater alongside retail packaging bearing a 100 W label. The image is useful to distinguish this power size; it does not establish a physical measurement, the exact instructions inside a prospective package, or operating results. The page's LED indicator is also not described in enough detail to infer what each light state means. It should not be mistaken for a digital water-temperature display.
Adjustability and water compatibility
AquaTop lists an adjustable dial spanning 68–93°F and says HTG models can be used in freshwater and saltwater. Requests below 68°F or above 93°F fall outside the page's stated range; values at the endpoints fall inside the interval. No accuracy tolerance is published, so the page does not guarantee that aquarium water will match a dial marking. A heater setting is also not a recommendation for a particular animal. If a fixed preset is what you want, this is not a preset design; the dial is an adjustable control.
The exact page's “fully submersible” statement supports installation inside the aquarium, not connection in-line with an external filter. The reviewed product copy does not provide an HTG-100 manual or spell out mounting orientation, minimum immersion mark, startup wait, cooling interval or cleaning procedure. I do not borrow those details from a manual for AquaTop's separate GH family. Read the instructions that ship with the actual HTG-100 and verify its electrical nameplate; the product page and legacy data sheet reviewed here do not state voltage or frequency.
How to compare it with its neighbors
The HTG-50 is shorter and has a 13-gallon ceiling; the HTG-100 raises the listed maximum to 25 gallons but adds two inches of body height. The current HTG-200 page moves to 50 gallons and 13.5 inches, while HTG-300 and HTG-400 are longer again. Because the 100 W page and older data sheet agree at 25 gallons, there is no same-field source conflict for this model. That clean agreement does not mean the model is automatically the right amount of heat: the unreported minimum size and room conditions remain important limitations.
Before choosing, verify that the package is specifically marked HTG-100, compare 25 gallons with the working water volume, measure the tank's clearance for an 11.5-inch guarded heater, read the current instructions and inspect the actual electrical label. Check which water type the exact instructions allow, even though the manufacturer page lists both. Keep the heater away from unreviewed assumptions about filter plumbing, guard rating and thermostat accuracy. The HTG-100 is most defensible as a clearly identified 100 W guarded glass option with a 25-gallon upper screen and adjustable control—not as a tested guarantee of stable water temperature.
Sources: AquaTop's HTG-100 exact page, HTG family listing and HTG data sheet; the TruAqua HTG-100 package listing was used for exact image identity.
Key specifications
Key details at a glance
| Rated heater power | 100 W |
|---|---|
| Manufacturer aquarium rating | 25 US gal |
| Lowest thermostat setting | 68°F |
| Highest thermostat setting | 93°F |
| Temperature control | Adjustable thermostat |
| Supported water types | freshwater / saltwater |
| Installation route | Fully submerged, in-tank |
Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.
Sources for this review
Sources for this assessment
Check the complete aquarium setup
Use the finder to compare documented tank size, water type, installation and temperature-control fit. A match does not guarantee the keeper's species-specific target or measured performance.
